2005-2006 SEASON


Pippin (2006)

The Chatham Players opened their production of “Pippin” on Friday, May 5 to a sold out, enthusiastic house. Created by Oscar winner Stephen Schwartz, composer/lyricist for “Godspell,” “Children of Eden,” and “Wicked”, “Pippin” delights in numerous show-stopping numbers. Audiences will meet Prince Pippin who is out to discover the secret of true happiness and fulfillment, only to find it where he least expects it. Join Us…We’ve Got Magic To do!

Bob Cline of New York directs the musical. Bob is elated to be back at The Chatham Players after directing Into the Wood” here last season and To Kill a Mockingbird the year before. Last year, Bob directed both Showboat and Side Show for the Montclair Operetta Club. Other favorite credits include: Company at the Lucille Lortell, A New Brain (PERRY Award Best Director and Production), Songs for a New World (PERRY nomination Best Director), Falsettos (PERRY nomination Best Production of a Musical), and Violet (PERRY nominations Best Production and Best Director), Is There Life After High School, Little Shop of Horrors, and Nunsense.

Eric K. Johnston of New York is the musical director of the show. Erik is very happy that Pippin brings him back to CCP, following 2004's The Spitfire Grill. Since that time, Eric has spent the last two summers with The Music Circus in Sacramento, as rehearsal & pit pianist for productions including Beauty and the Beast, Crazy For You and Cabaret, and he will be returning in June for another season. Eric has also composed two short musicals, The Guest and Monster, as well as original music for various productions including Oedipus Rex, The Spanish Tragedy and the world premiere of SubUrban Legend.

The Cast

Role Actor
Leading Player Voltaire Balderrama
Pippin Christopher Cantalupo
Charles David Simon
Lewis Billy McArthur
Frastrada Janice Lynn
Berthe Joan Ludwig
Catherine Shannon Barry O'Grady
Theo Daniel Marconi
Theo Michael Pasternak
Ensemble Patrick Barkett
Ensemble Desiree Caro
Ensemble Joshua Dick
Ensemble Garret Gallinot
Ensemble Phil Levesque
Ensemble James Lopez
Ensemble Kelly Shera
Ensemble Stacey Simon
Ensemble Rebecca Weisberg
Ensemble Jennifer Wewers-Sharp

Photo Gallery (3)


Production Team

Production Role
Producer Eileen Johnston
Director Bob Cline
Musical Director Eric K. Johnston
Production Coordinator Chris Colabraro
Stage Manager Debby Hennessy
Asst. Stage Manager Steffi Denmark
Set Design Robert Lukasik
Costume Design Westie Grosh
Lighting Design Sean Hennessy
Sound Design Steve Ruskin
Props and Set Decoration Letitia Lum
Props and Set Decoration Geneviève Anderson
Makeup/Wigs Andrea Sickler
Makeup/Wigs Edith Schenk
Makeup/Wigs Lee Nordholm

The Playbill (3)